Harvard Business Review Announces 59th Annual HBR McKinsey Award Winners | Business Wire

BOSTON–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Organizations need competent management just as much as they need

analytical brilliance, argue the winners of this year’s HBR McKinsey

Award, which honors the best Harvard Business Review article of

the year.

In “Why

Do We Undervalue Competent Management?,” Raffaella Sadun, Nicholas

Bloom, and John Van Reenen challenge the conventional thinking that

operational effectiveness is not a source of competitive

differentiation. Through in-depth research involving over 12,000 firms

in 34 countries, they found that companies with strong managerial

processes do significantly better on metrics such as profitability,

growth, longevity, and productivity. What’s more, the differences in

process quality persist over time, suggesting that competent management

is not easy to imitate.

“‘Why Do We Undervalue Competent Management?’ is a rigorously researched

article that reveals an important insight: core management practices

that are often underrated and viewed as ‘non-strategic’ are in fact a

powerful way to become more competitive,” said Adi Ignatius, Editor in

Chief of Harvard Business Review.

Raffaella Sadun is the Thomas S. Murphy Associate Professor of Business

Administration at Harvard Business School. Nicholas Bloom is the William

Eberle Professor of economics at Stanford University and a codirector of

the Productivity, Innovation and Entrepreneurship program at the

National Bureau of Economic Research. John Van Reenen is the Gordon Y.

Billard Professor in MIT’s department of economics and its Sloan School

of Management.

The annual HBR McKinsey Awards, judged by an independent panel of

business and academic leaders with input from members of HBR’s Advisory

Board, commend outstanding articles published each year in Harvard

Business Review. This year’s announcement appears in the May-June

issue of the magazine, which is available online today and on newsstands

April 24.

This year’s HBR McKinsey Awards also recognizes two finalists:

The 2017 HBR McKinsey judges were: Peter Cappelli, Professor, The

Wharton School; Claudio Fernández-Aráoz, Senior Advisor, Egon Zehnder;

Erin Meyer, Professor, INSEAD; and Martha Samuelson, CEO, Analysis Group.

About the HBR McKinsey Awards

Since 1959, the HBR McKinsey Awards have recognized practical and

groundbreaking management thinking by determining the best articles

published each year in Harvard Business Review. Past winners

include Peter Drucker, Clayton M. Christensen, Daniel Goleman, Rosabeth

Moss Kanter, George Stalk, Michael E. Porter, Mark R. Kramer, and John


About Harvard Business Review

Harvard Business Review is the leading destination for smart

management thinking. Through its flagship magazine, 12 international

licensed editions, books from Harvard Business Review Press, and digital

content and tools published on HBR.org,

Harvard Business Review provides professionals around the world

with rigorous insights and best practices to lead themselves and their

organizations more effectively and to make a positive impact.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *